danaxtele.blogg.se

Drachenfels warhammer book
Drachenfels warhammer book












Previously, she had been a walking plot device, existing only to move the plot ahead on occasion, and then to fade back into the shadows until she was needed to beat someone's head in. I didn't know what made her sad, happy, or angry. She had no character - I didn't know her motivations, her desires.

#Drachenfels warhammer book full#

It was then I realised that, in the last 500 pages of the Omnibus, I had learned next to nothing about Genevieve as a character - I knew what she was, a vampire, how old she was, and what her full name was - but little else. I didn't really feel like I was reading a story 'about' Genevieve, or featuring her in some significant way, until the first short story of the Fourth Book in the series, Silver Nails. Largely, they were not.īook 3, Beasts in Velvet, does not even feature Genevieve as a character (She has a brief camo, but has no relevance to anything in the book) and should probably just be excised from the canon (Along with its associated shorts) on the grounds they have literally nothing to do with the title character, even the stories where Genevieve does appear, she is usually a secondary character who has little impact on the story, except to come in at the end to bash the antagonists heads in with her super vampire strength, absolving the author of comping up with a clever way for the protagonists to overcome the odds. The Vampire Genevieve contains 4 books, though only two are novels, the other half being collections of novellas and shorts, and in my naivety i had assumed they would be about a vampire called Genevieve. That's okay, I'll move on.īut The Vampire Genevieve was different. That's fine - the book just isn't for me. Sometimes I don't like characters, or just don't like the writing style. Oh - I've bought and not enjoyed books before. I don't think I have ever been made to feel as disappointed- or cheated - by a book before. The Vampire Genevieve contains 4 books, though only two are novels, the other half being collections of novellas and shorts, and in my naivety i had assumed they Not Recommended Not Recommended I don't think I have ever been made to feel as disappointed- or cheated - by a book before. Now all four novels are available in a superb value collected volume.more The Genevieve books were first published by Games Workshop in the late 1980s and quickly gained a cult reputation amongst Warhammer and fantasy fans alike. Jack Yeovil is a pseudonym for popular nevelist Kim Newman. It contains the four fabulous novels "Drachenfels", "Genevieve Undead", "Beasts in Velvet" and "Silver Nails". "The Vampire Genevieve" collects together all the tales of Genevieve and her unlikely companions into one volume. However, the vampire blood running through Genevieve's veins means she must constantly fight the urge to surrender to the evil within her. In the dark forests and cities of the Warhammer world, she and her unlikely companions battle the forces of evil and insanity. She's beautiful, powerful, resourceful and courageous - and over four hundred years old. However, the vampire blood running through Genevieve's veins means she must constantly fight Evil has a new enemy.












Drachenfels warhammer book